- Bbay does not delete inactive accounts. In particular, eBay deletes an account if the owner’s contact information is invalid or outdated.
- Ebay requires that users keep their email address up-to-date and requires a valid phone number in order to get access to their account at all times.
How To eBay close inactive accounts
eBay does close eBay accounts that have not been accessed for some time. eBay’s terms and conditions require users to maintain an active eBay account. eBay will also terminate eBay accounts if they have been inactive for a certain amount of time.
If eBay closes your eBay account, all membership services are terminated and you will no longer be able to sign in to eBay or access any part of the eBay service that requires an eBay member ID or password. You may even lose your eBay username because anyone can try re-registering it after you’ve lost access to it (which is why we recommend you always protect your online business assets – including domain names, URLs and social media pages – with Brand Protection). eBay is eBay.
As eBay accounts are personal, eBay will contact you via email to let you know that your eBay account is being closed as you have not accessed it for a certain amount of time. This happens automatically, so if eBay has sent you an email saying that eBay will close your eBay account in the next 30 days because it has been inactive, there is no need to do anything further until the date on which eBay will close your eBay account arrives.
You can easily avoid this situation happening again by making sure your eBay account is active . You can change or remove information in My eBay any time and we also recommend setting up automated notifications or reminders for important dates such as renewals or upcoming collections. If you’ve recently changed your name, eBay will close your eBay account if eBay has the wrong name for you. If you do change your eBay username, it’s a good idea to update any eBay listings that are associated with that eBay username to show the new eBay username too – this way, buyers can still find you when they search for products listed using the old eBay username.
After 60 days, your account will be permanently closed and you’ll have to register a new eBay account to buy or sell items.
If you have an outstanding balance with us, please make a payment to resolve the problem. Once we receive your payment, we will reinstate your account immediately.
Because eBay cannot see your IP address, it will not register that you are the same user and will not block you from creating a new account.
If you believe that your account was mistakenly suspended, or if you’re not sure how to contact eBay for assistance, then call at 1-866-540-3229. You can also arrange a phone call from someone with the company by using this number.
It’s perfectly legal and within eBay’s rules to create multiple accounts. You’ll just need a unique email address for each one.
All of your accounts can be used however you best see fit. However, please keep in mind that buying and selling policies will apply across all accounts, so make sure to follow our standards accordingly.
Yes, eBay can track your IP address. They do this in order to prevent fraud and to ensure that buyers and sellers are protected. If you are concerned about your privacy, you can take steps to protect your IP address, such as using a VPN.
Yes, you can have multiple eBay accounts. However, you cannot use the same email address for multiple accounts and you cannot share the same payment method between accounts.
If you close your eBay store, your listings will be removed, and you will no longer be able to sell on eBay.
Yes, you can use the same PayPal account for multiple eBay accounts.